Poenari

Lucid memories of that far crossing
Through the Carpathian autumn passage
With mountains steeped in their scarlet hunting
And shy fifteen-hundred stone steps’ vantage

Well I recall now that lonely aerie
The better even than that mad dog’s bite
Though never now can I truly be free
Hounded in life by the moon’s savage light

Though long from Poenari now returned
Distant in time and far remote in reach
From that place I carried a thing unearned
The lupercal passions to my heart preach

If perhaps I might be blameless in this
Forgive me yet this sanguinary kiss

Leave a Reply

