Xipe Totec

Xipe_Totec
Paper of a kind
Like leather pulled taut
This past we consign
This path you forgot

The stumps of those trees
Stained almost black by
That water that frees
The strings we untie

Oh my heart, lay down
In such sad repose
Dreams mislaid to drown
Embraced by your foes

Taste deeply of lethe
Entwined amity
And foreshortened breath
To this end accede

Flesh now of a kind
Skin folds like paper
This life to unbind
Left in our ardor

Your paper gathered
Like cloth it is laid
His duty conferred
By truths now left flayed

7 thoughts on “Xipe Totec

  1. Hello ๐Ÿ™‚ I really love this unique art work of Xipe Totec and would like permission to use as a logo for my Precision Agriculture bussniss I’m in the process of starting up in Australia
    I have registered the business name ‘XIPE TOTEC
    PRECISION AGRICULTURE’
    Please let me know if the artist is contactable or if this image is avlable for use.
    Kind Regards Tim Greschke

    • The artwork is public domain – offhand I believe it’s from the Codex Borgia, so 15th century or 14th century.

      I assume you know that Xipe Totec literally means “The Flayed God”? ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Hey Geoff , thanks for your response, thats great news that art work is historIc. I have read the basic accounts of Xipe Totec and I am awear of the rather gruesome traditions in honouring him eg wearing around the skins of people for 40 days until they drop off… But as far as I can tell he is the God of Agriculture, and aswell death and rebirth and a deity of silver and gold smithing so for that I really like him as icon. I found him by searching Gods of Agriculture and internationally I like him the most and appreciate incredibly precise astronomers the Aztecs were and the application to agriculture. I wish that so many of their codex had not been burnt by the Spanish conquistadors ๐Ÿ˜ฆ so many insights lost…

        • Cool. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, he’s also an agricultural deity. And definitely should be good at striking fear into your enemies.

          Just wanted to make sure you knew the association. ๐Ÿ˜‰

          • Thanks again Geoff, you’re a good man ๐Ÿ™‚
            Seeing that took the care and time to
            Be informative, I would like to explain
            Why i find this particular image so relevant.

            The precision agriculture service we will be providing, is to employ unmanned aerial vehicles (fixed wing and multi-rotor) fitted with multi-spectral cameras to survey and diagnose crops. This is done by creating near infrared maps that show up plant stress
            And disease before they are visible the the naked eye.

            Increasing yields and lowering costs and chemical into the food and environment.

            This image is the only one I’ve seen with Xipe Totec holding out a bird( the autonomous flying vision) in one hand and a rectangular shield shaped thing that resembles a ‘tablet’ or control device in the other. I’m making this contection with a fair amount of artistic interpretation, but it does fit so neatly.

            I also find it so serendipitous because I noticed these after the decision to adopt him and this as our icon ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

