Sea Breeze, Night Breeze

Abandoned by the waves’ cold tide
Where sky caresses sea,
And there on sands with yielded knee
The foam begs thus for mercy.

I heard it then, upon that wind,
Strains of echoes scattered,
Uncaged at last by reclaimed skin
To the sea she gave her answer:

“Sea breeze, night breeze,
Though you were my jailor,
Tonight you gave me back my seas,
My ocean spray and thunder.

“And though behind I now leave them,
Those bairns I bore on land,
To earth ne’er to be condemned,
And to the sea remand.”

They say now that she never was,
My dark-haired Selkie lass,
Though here she dwelled through wind and flood,
Under skies of azure glass.

Leave a Reply

