Half a Hundred Years

I thought we would have half a hundred years,
I thought there would always be you and I,
I thought we would always have tomorrow,
I thought there would be time for all our dreams,
I thought tomorrow would never be today,
I thought nothing could rip it all away.

The rush of rain and concrete,
The unforgiving ground,
The dreams crushed by broken metal,
The children now unborn,
The stories now not written,
The weight that is now gone.


There was a moment when all was new,
There was a glow that we called dawn,
There was a spring before this winter,
There was a garden once new-sown,
There was a cup with all our dreams,
There was the everything we believed.

This sound is now the silence,
This wind is tonight my dirge,
This flood is not of water,
This pain is a candle’s flicker,
This ache is as I am torn from you,
This grief will be for you to bear.

I thought we would have half a hundred years,
I thought there would always be you and I,
I thought we would always have tomorrow,
I thought there would be time for all our dreams,
I thought tomorrow would never be today,
I thought nothing could rip it all away.

Leave a Reply

